NAATPl Instructor Award Submission Deadline Extended to December 31

December 5, 2018

The North American Association of Teachers of Polish is announcing a competition for the best teaching


                        NAATPl Instructor Award for Exemplary Teaching and Learning Materials


The NAATPl Award aims to recognize and promote outstanding resources designed to enhance teaching

and learning at all levels of instruction (K-16). The Award carries an amount of $500 and a Certificate of



Submission Guidelines & Criteria

All Polish language teachers (K-16) who teach in the US and Canada, and are NAATPl members, are

eligible to submit their teaching materials. To become a NAATPl member please visit our website or send an email to



Submitted materials should meet the following criteria:


1. Creative and innovative supplement to existing materials

2. Based on authentic materials, if applicable/relevant to the task/purpose
3. Methodologically well organized, with clearly designed pre- and post-task activities, and teacher’s


4. Tested in practice (e.g. has been used during class time and adjustments/edits have been considered)

5. Accessible online or submitted electronically to Anna Szawara with a subject line 

         ‘LASTNAME Instructor Award Materials’ (e.g. SMITH Instructor Award Materials)

6. Based on the ACTFL standards (noting which specific level of proficiency and skills the materials target)

7. Non-infringing on any copyrights


Preferences will be given to technology-enhanced language learning materials, made freely available on the web.


Examples of Projects/Materials:

1. Instructional video clips with mini-lectures presenting grammar topics in English, examples in Polish, and topic-related exercises
2. Online reading comprehension materials with a set of pre-and post-task activities, with clearly defined language levels and skill sets they target

3. Interactive self-correcting online exercises (i.e. tests, quizzes)
4. Culture-focused units/lesson plans that include various culture oriented tasks and topic specific vocabulary
5. Video interviews with native speakers supplemented with transcripts and exercises


Submission Deadline Extended until December 31, 2018
Award Winner Announcement: February 8, 2019 (AATSEEL annual convention/NAATPl meeting)


NAATPl Award Committee:
1. Anna Szawara, University of Illinois, Chicago (Award Committee Coordinator)
2. Erik Houle, The University of Chicago
3. Bernadeta Kamińska, University of Texas at Austin
4. Bożena Nowicka McLees, Loyola University Chicago (ex officio)
5. Ewa Małachowska-Pasek, University of Michigan (2018-2019 NAATPl President, ex officio)


In case of any questions related to the submission process please contact the Award Committee Coordinator, Anna Szawara

Please reload

Featured Posts

Webinar: Teaching Polish during Pandemic

June 1, 2020

Please reload

Recent Posts

January 6, 2019

Please reload

Please reload

Search By Tags
Please reload

© 2016 by NAATPL